News:

  • August 23, 2026, 08:56:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option  (Read 16369 times)

Andrew S

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 144
Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« on: August 15, 2019, 04:37:33 PM »
I love the auto-hide function on the instruction toolbox but every time I go into Edit mode the auto-hide switches itself off. I can see how this would be advantageous for new users but I'd love it to default to being switched on. Would it be possible to add a feature request for an option to default auto-hide to on?

p.s. - thanks for the nod in the 2.6.2 release notes :)

Thanks, Andrew.

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 04:56:24 PM »
Definitely do-able.

johnr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2020, 10:15:57 AM »
I know this is an old topic, but I thought I'd chime in anyway and second Andrew's request.  The toolbox is really useful for a lot of programmers, I realize, but I type in 95+% of my commands so mostly it just gets in the way.  Every time I go into edit mode I have to put my hands on the mouse in order to either auto-hide or turn it off.  Neither hiding nor turning off seems to be remembered beyond the current edit session.

An option setting would be great, I'd settle for a shortcut key, or a menu ALT+ key sequence if one is available.  I haven't found any so far.  Is there a way to shortcut through the ladder popup menu?

Thanks!

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2020, 11:31:33 AM »
Rather than make it an option - I implemented that it remembers the last state.  Adding an option is not great because
1. People don't realize that the option is available
2. The default will be to always show it, and based on #1, no one will know how to make it do what they want, and hence will always be frustrated, and maybe, just maybe, they will post their frustration, and we will reply and tell them how to turn it on, and then and only then will be happy (but after days/weeks/months of frustration).

By making it a passive option, i.e. it just automagically remembers how you last use it, it just works!

I assume you are just floating your mouse cursor over the collapsed toolbox tab to get it to show and to use it.  You are NOT pinning it and unpinning it.

johnr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2020, 01:18:26 PM »
It doesn't seem to remember from what I can see.  Every time I go out of Edit mode and back in (menu bar toggle, CTRL+E toggle, either way), the Instruction Toolbox window pops back out alongside the right-most ladder window, no matter how last I left it.  Same behavior running V2.6.2 on Win7 and Win 8.1.   Am I missing something?

I did a little searching and discovered that SHIFT+F10 is a recognized context-sensitive menu shortcut key, never knew that.  It is implemented in DMD, so SHIFT+F10 X will turn it off.  I'd be happier if I could just get it to remember, though.

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2020, 02:10:29 PM »
Sorry - when I say "I implemented", meaning that is what I just implemented 2 hours ago, so it will be in the NEXT version.  Sorry.

So the behavior you are seeing IS the CURRENT RELEASED behavior.

What I explained is how it will work in the next release, due out soon.

So as you go in and out of edit mode in the next release, if it was hidden, it will show back up hidden.  If it was docked, it will show up docked.  Coming soon to a Do-more Designer near you!

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2020, 02:11:44 PM »
I'd be happier if I could just get it to remember, though.

That is what will be in the next release.

johnr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2020, 02:35:21 PM »
Great news!  Thanks for the consideration.

Will it remember toolbox "off" as well as "auto-hide"?  (I know, some folks are never satisfied...)  Either way it will be a much appreciated improvement.

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2020, 03:08:29 PM »
Will it remember toolbox "off"

That is already a setting.  Hence, the "show" behavior is one of the context menu settings that is already there - that behavior won't change:

o Show when in Edit Mode
o Always Show
o Manually Show

It's just that when you DO show it, this new behavior will show it hidden(pinned to frame) vs. fully shown, based on how it was when it was closed (pinned or shown).

johnr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2020, 03:37:02 PM »
Ahh, hidden in plain sight...  I didn't realize the toolbox had it's own context popup window, just haven't used it that much.  That's what I was hoping was there somewhere.

Thanks for the help!

franji1

  • Bit Weenie
  • Host Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
    • Host Engineering
Re: Auto-hiding the Instruction Toolbox as an option
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2020, 11:21:48 AM »
I love the auto-hide function on the instruction toolbox but every time I go into Edit mode the auto-hide switches itself off.

Implemented in Designer 2.7.

Note that if an existing project's workspace has it showing, it restores itself showing, since the individual project's workspace layout overrides this behavior.  But once you hide it, that project's workspace will now maintain its "auto-hiddenness" with this fix.