Technically no, because a system config change like a UDT definition will require a prog mode update.
However, I recommend designing UDTs with extra spare elements that can be quickly pressed into service, which could be done at runtime. Even changing member names, while it will require a program mode download will not change the size of the UDT elements and thus will not clear data.