That was added when we integrated the Memory Image as part of the Project Download. Hence whenever you make changes to the Memory Image, the Project Download dialog becomes "enabled". It used to be completely separate, and not very intuitive to know how/when to do it. This makes it more obvious how/when.
For some situations when you change the Memory Image definition or its contents, you DO want to update the PLC (hence the flag). Obviously, this is not always the case, but for some situations, it is.
As Bob mentioned, it should only show the "documentation" as being changed, but the documentation is only flagging the fact that the Memory Image is "different" (neither the Memory Image definition nor the contents are part of the documentation).