Host Engineering Forum
General Category => DirectSOFT => Topic started by: Saturn_Europa1 on August 11, 2026, 05:10:48 AM
-
The PLC network at my work is a collection of Direct Logic PLCs on unmanaged switches on the 192.168.100.xxx subnet. Theres around 20 PLCs in total.
I recently got a new programming computer. When I open the Direct Soft Program for a particular PLC say Clarifier 2 PLC. The software will automatically connect to Clarifier 2 PLC and I will be online with it. I just have to turn on the statuses.
On my old laptop, I would have to click on the PLC menu then select connect, then pick the correct PLC to go online with from a list of communicating PLCs.
Now, my new laptop will automatically connect to the correct PLC when I open the program.
Is this a new feature that I am unaware off? Is it possible to turn this off?
-
I believe that when you say "open the program", you mean the DirectSOFT Project file, and that it will go online automatically also.
Yes, that feature has always been there whenever you save an Online project to disk. The project has the link connection stored as part of its file.
Opening a disk project that has a configured comm link on a new PC will also re-create the link on your new computer if that comm link is not actually set up yet. The project file also stores some of the link parameters in case the link with that name is not currently defined on the PC (think projects stored on floppy disk, moving from maintenance laptop to laptop).
-
Thank you for the reply. Yes, I do mean opening the DirectSoft Project file.
So when I open the DirctSOFT project file and it automatically goes online thats a normal feature that has always been there? Is there any way to turn this off? I usually like to review the program offline. Most of the time, I am just looking at the code to see what the permissives are so I can find the problem in the field.