Host Engineering Forum
General Category => Do-more CPUs and Do-more Designer Software => Topic started by: jcottrill on February 04, 2018, 11:19:21 AM
-
Hey Guys,
I am trying to finalize our version control scheme. It would be nice to have the ability to automatically generate/update an export file for the entire project upon saving. The initial use for this would be with version control software like Git or Subversion which becomes much more useful when dealing with text files vs binaries. Taken one step further, those text files could be pumped through in-house scripts for code and style analysis. I think this is reasonable since the export itself doesn't appear to take any real amount of time to generate. You'd probably just need to add a config option or ini file to define the default output settings.
-
We did/do that for DirectSOFT. Should be easy to do with Do-more.
We can turn it ON by default, but do not bother if you decided to DISable it. We can stick it in Global options. It can automatically create a .TXT file with the <project name>.txt in the same folder as the <project name>.dmd file.
Easy peasy.
Note that the current export does NOT contain EVERYTHING from the source project (e.g. Project Info is not included). We can look at adding all the missing pieces in the future. I would also like to add the ability to make the System Configuration export have a "human readable" form, at least for EXPORT (maybe not for IMPORT, but even that is also possible).
-
Were you guys ever able to get this one implemented?
-
Were you guys ever able to get this one implemented?
Yes. In Designer 2.3, whenever you Save the project to disk, we generate a text export file in the same folder as the .dmd project file in the form of <project file name>_EXPORT_DMD.txt. So MyProj.dmd will have a text export MyProj_EXPORT_DMD.txt.
See Designer 2.3 Updates.pdf
5.i. Enhancements/Project Files: Generates Project and C-more export files automatically
http://forum.hosteng.com/wndm/updates.pdf
-
So now I would like to know if we can turn off that auto-exporting of those text files? I don't have a need for them and they do add a bit of clutter, as well as being a lot larger than the 3 original files.
I tend toward saving versions with timestamp in the filename and very, very frequently, so the folder for my last tiny project is quite unwieldy.
If I do want them I can manually export them.
-
So now I would like to know if we can turn off that auto-exporting of those text files?
It's not there now, but we can definitely add that option.