Host Engineering Forum
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 23, 2018, 02:36:16 pm


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Retry, Retry  (Read 509 times)
PLCGuy
Internal Dev
****
Posts: 612



« on: March 12, 2018, 11:20:28 am »

I always been meaning to ask about the retry to connect that pops up. The comm link is not responding box. Sometimes I forget to turn on the plc before opening a program, therefore causing the box to pop up asking to retry or cancel. This is both for DS and Do-More Programming. I wait for a fair amount of time for the plc to boot and hit retry. But to no avail no connect. I have to close the box and program, open the program so the comm connects. Or just go to PLC and connect that way.

Anyhow, why doesn't it connect when using the retry button?
Logged
franji1
Bit Weenie
Host Moderator
*****
Posts: 2313



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 01:32:39 pm »

USB, Ethernet, or Serial?
Logged

PLCGuy
Internal Dev
****
Posts: 612



« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 04:48:21 pm »

doesn't seem to matter.
But currently Ethernet.
Logged
Garyhlucas
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 203


« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2018, 09:03:20 pm »

I find that if you select a different method say serial then back to Ethernet it will connect just fine.  A bit maddening but it has always been that way best I can tell.
Logged
BobO
Host Moderator
*****
Posts: 4105


Yes Pinky, Do-more will control the world!


« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2018, 11:06:06 pm »

I've never seen that. I hit retry once and it continues. Wondering what the difference is?

Can you dupe it Franj?
Logged

"We would rather apologize to 20% for what we chose not to do, than to apologize to 100% for what we did poorly." -BobO
franji1
Bit Weenie
Host Moderator
*****
Posts: 2313



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2018, 06:56:31 am »

I did, with a USB connection.  Once I canceled, then double clicked on the link, it worked.
Logged

plcnut
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 779



« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2018, 09:59:09 am »

I have always had this issue (I have only used Ethernet). The only way I can connect, if the first time doesn't work, is to start over. Retry has never worked for me.
Logged

Circumstances don't determine who we are, they only reveal it.

~Jason Wolthuis
franji1
Bit Weenie
Host Moderator
*****
Posts: 2313



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2018, 02:33:40 pm »

I did, with a USB connection.  Once I canceled, then double clicked on the link, it worked.

USB fixed in 2.2
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM