Host Engineering Forum

General Category => DNLoader => Topic started by: hirzel on July 29, 2013, 03:01:34 pm



Title: DNLoader doesn't configure PORT2 on DL05
Post by: hirzel on July 29, 2013, 03:01:34 pm
I've used DNLoader to load programs into DL05's.  Part of my program, I send data out PORT2.

I write a custom windows based companion program that captures the serial data streaming out PORT2, and displays and monitors the PLC INs and OUTs.

I need to set PORT2 to serial communication,  9600 baud, 8 bits, 1 stop, no parity, no handshake.


The problem is,  DLoader doesn't set up the port, so I need to do it with Direct Logic,  which defeats the entire purpose of use DNLoader.

Is there any way to get DNloader to read/write PORT2 setup configuration?

John Mc


Title: Re: DNLoader doesn't configure PORT2 on DL05
Post by: franji1 on July 29, 2013, 03:47:53 pm
You can write ladder logic to configure Port 2.  There is an app note on ADC's website that describes the data values and System V registers, along with a link to a ladder logic example for a 450.  Note that the 05 will be different addresses/values than this example, but by comparing the 450 data/registers against the 05 data/registers, you can figure out the necessary 05 logic to stick in your program.

http://support.automationdirect.com/docs/comportsetup/


Title: Re: DNLoader doesn't configure PORT2 on DL05
Post by: hirzel on July 29, 2013, 06:13:46 pm
Thanks,  I'll give that a shot.

John